How to Fact Check

Almost everyone who uses social media (such as Facebook or Twitter) and messenger services like Whatsapp comes into contact with misinformation such as misleading content on the Coronavirus. This content can be voice messages, links propagating incorrect health advice or remedies, or videos including conspiracy theories, for instance on the origin of the virus and the cause of its spread. The problem is here: Content that circulates in closed private networks is considered particularly credible. This makes it all the more important not to spread dubious content.

Individuals spreading misinformation usually do not do so with bad intentions, but out of concern or ignorance. However, sharing misinformation often leads to even greater uncertainty, sometimes causing panic. The more emotional a report is, the more often it is shared. For that reason, it is important to take a step back and keep calm. Better to erase it than to spread it further.

In the following, you find a range of different questions and tools that can help to verifiy content and its legitimcy.

Source

  • Does the article/message mention the original source? Compare this article/message with this original source.
  • Search for the exact headline of the article/message by using the quotation marks to find the original source. Example: “COVID-19 – The Death Rate Is Rising”
  • How is the overall language of the article/message? Do you notice a lot of grammar mistakes? Use Google Translate to translate the text literally to other languages and look for the exact heading using the quotation marks to find the original source. Example: “COVID-19 – The Death Rate Is Rising”

Content

  • Does the content of the article/message fit the headline?
  • Do different, reliable media outlets report on the topic and if so, do they come to a different conclusion? 
  • Was the article/message already fact-checked by different fact-checking organizations?

Online presence

  • Pay attention to the URLs. Some websites are mimicking already existing media. Example: ABCnews.com vs. ABCnews.com.co
  • Regarding articles: Pay attention to the quality of the logo and design of the media outlet.

Images/Videos

  • Use reverse image search to see whether photos/messages are legitimate and not taken from other contexts. This can also be done for profile pictures on social media to identify fake profiles. You can use TinEye to do so.
  • Conduct a reverse video search by taking a screenshot of the video and verifying it through reverse image search tools such as TinEye

Quotes

  • Look at the quotes in the article/message: Who expressed them? Is the person an expert in the given field? Did these quotes come from another context/story?
  • Compare the statements with publicly accessible studies and renowned experts in the given field. 
  • Are there quotes from many different experts and do they represent different viewpoints?

Ownership

  • Pay attention to the owner or financial supporter of the media outlet/source in question. Could there be any governmental or editorial influence or is there strong political bias?
  • Research the source of the article/message. Is the author a renowned journalist? Is it a person that you personally know? If the message was forwarded, can you track the chain back to its origins?

Faktenchecken Ganz Einfach

Fast jeder, der soziale Medien wie Facebook oder Twitter und Messenger-Dienste wie Whatsapp nutzt, kommt in Kontakt mit Falschmeldungen wie aktuell zu Corona. Dies können weitergeleite Sprachnachrichten, Links zu falschen Gesundheitstipps und dubiosen Heilmitteln oder Videos mit Verschwörungstheorien sein, was zum Beispiel die Entstehung des Virus und die Ursache der Verbreitung anbelangt. Das Problem ist hier: Gerade Nachrichten, die im privaten Raum kursieren, werden für besonders glaubwürdig gehalten. Umso wichtiger ist es, nicht im Affekt unseriöse Nachrichten weiterzuverbreiten. 

Falschmeldungen werden von Privatpersonen meist nicht böswillig verbreitet, sondern aus Sorge oder Unwissenheit. Im Zweifel wird jedoch genau das Gegenteil erreicht, denn Falschmeldungen führen häufig dazu, dass Verunsicherung geschürt oder Panik verbreitet wird. Je emotionaler eine Meldung, umso häufiger wird sie verbreitet. Desto wichtiger ist es, sich daran nicht zu beteiligen und Ruhe zu bewahren. Besser löschen, als weiterverbreiten. 

Um dir bei der Identifizierung von Falschinformationen zu helfen, findest du nachfolgend eine Übersicht an Fragen und Tools, die dich auf die richtige Spur führen können:

Quelle

  • Wird im Artikel/in der Nachricht die Originalquelle genannt? Vergleiche den Artikel/die Nachricht mit dieser Originalquelle.
  • Suche nach der exakten Überschrift des Artikels/Textes auf Google, indem Du Anführungszeichen benutzt, um die Originalquelle zu finden. Beispiel: “COVID-19 – Die Todesrate steigt”
  • Weist der Artikel/die Nachricht grammatische Fehler auf? Lass den Text per Google Translate wortwörtlich in andere Sprachen übersetzen und suche die Überschriften oder Paragraphen mit Anführungszeichen um die Originalquelle zu finden.

Inhalt

  • Passt der Inhalt des Artikels/der Nachricht zur Überschrift?
  • Berichten verlässliche Medien über das Thema und tun sie dies mit ähnlichem Fazit? Auf der sicheren Seite bist du, wenn du Abgleiche mit öffentlich-rechtlichen Medien machst.
  • Wurde der Artikel/Text bereits von Fact-Checking Organisationen wie Correctiv oder Faktenfinder aufgegriffen und berichtigt?

Online Präsenz

  • Achte auf die URLs. Manche Webseiten imitieren bereits bekannte Medien. Beispiel: ABCnews.com vs. ABCnews.com.co
  • Bei Artikeln: Achte auf die Qualität des Logos und Designs des Mediums.

Bilder/Videos

  • Nutze Reverse Image Search, um zu sehen, ob Fotos in Artikeln/Nachrichten echt sind und nicht aus anderen Kontexten gegriffen sind. Dies kann auch für Profilbilder in den sozialen Medien wiederholt werden, um sicherzugehen, dass Profilbilder nicht gestohlen sind. Ein Tool dafür ist Tineye.
  • Nutze Reverse Video Search wie oben, indem du Screenshots der Videos mit Hilfe der Reverse Image Search verifiziert.

Zitate

  • Schau dir die Zitate im Artikel/Text an. Wer hat diese geäußert? Handelt es sich um Expert*innen auf dem speziellen Gebiet? Wurden die Zitate woanders aufgegriffen und womöglich in einem anderen Kontext gebraucht?
  • Vergleiche die Aussagen mit öffentlich zugänglichen Studien und anerkannten Expert*innen im jeweiligen Gebiet. 
  • Untersuche, ob es Zitaten von mehreren Expert*innen gibt und ob unterschiedliche Sichtweisen beleuchtet werden.

Eigentümer*innen

  • Achte auf die Besitzer*innen und Geldgeber*innen der Webseite des Mediums mit dem betreffenden Artikel. Gibt es einen Verdacht auf staatliche Einflüsse oder starken politischen Bias?
  • Recherchiere die Quelle des Artikels/Textes. Ist es ein*e bekannte*r Journalist*in, Autor*in? Ist es eine Person, die du persönlich kennst? Kannst du im Falle einer weitergeleiteten Nachricht die Weiterleitungskette nachvollziehen?